Dennis J. Slamon, MD, PhD

Dennis J. Slamon, MD, PhD
University of California, Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California

Dennis J. Slamon, MD, PhD | Class of 2013

Acclaimed for having brought about a revolution in breast cancer diagnosis and treatment, Dr. Slamon and colleagues began looking at alterations in genes that regulate growth and discovered that tumors in women with an overexpression of the HER2 protein or an amplification of the HER2 gene were more aggressive. They focused on those tumors, and their research led to the discovery of the monoclonal antibody against HER2, the breast cancer drug trastuzumab (Herceptin), which has been used to treat more than 420,000 women worldwide. Heralded as a major advance in targeted cancer therapies when first introduced, the drug has been included in breast cancer treatment protocols in the United States since receiving FDA approval in 1998.

Dr. Slamon has received dozens of awards and honors for his groundbreaking work, including one that is probably unique among his colleagues: He had a Hollywood movie made of his life and work in 2008: “Living Proof” starred Harry Connick Jr.

Career Highlights

​2019  Lasker-Debakey Clinical Medical Research Award
2019  Sjöberg Prize, The Sjöberg Foundation, Lysekil, Sweden
2017  Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction in Clinical Research, Susan G. Komen
2008  Daniel Nathans’ Memorial Award, Van Andel Research Institute
2007  Gairdner Foundation International Award
2007  Distinguished Medical Service Award, Friends of the National Library of Medicine
2007  Warren Alpert Foundation Scientific Prize, Harvard Medical School
2006  Breast Cancer Award, European Institute of Oncology
2006  Umberto Veronesi Award for the Future Fight Against Breast Cancer
2006  Donald Ware Waddell Award, Arizona Cancer Center
2006  Lister Award for Translational Medicine, University of Glasgow, Scotland
2006  David A. Karnofsky Memorial Award and Lecture, American Society of Clinical Oncology
2004  Medal of Honor, American Cancer Society
2003  Dorothy P. Landon-AACR Prize for Translational Cancer Research
2002  Jeffrey A. Gottlieb Memorial Award, UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
2001  Brown-Hazen Award for Excellence in the Basic Sciences, Wadsworth Center
2000  Bristol-Myers-Squibb Oncology Millennium Award
1975  MD, PhD, University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine