Associate Member Council: History

In 1988, the AACR recognized the importance of cultivating the next generation of cancer researchers by establishing the associate member category of membership. The board of directors later sought to further initiate an ongoing dialogue between associate members and the AACR leadership to ensure that the current and future professional needs of early-career scientists would be met. Thus, the Associate Member Council was established by AACR President Dr. Lee W. Wattenberg (approved in 1993; first meeting held in 1996) to serve as a link between the board and Associate members, and to contribute to the development of AACR programs in a substantive way. 

Over the ensuing three years, the AACR sought nominations for positions on the newly formed council and worked to develop a mission and goals. In 1996, the first council took office, and was led by Co-chairpersons, Dr. John Alton Copland of the University of Texas Medical Branch and Dr. Christopher P. Evans of the University of California, Davis. Dr. Copland's leadership was instrumental in the council receiving the support of its charter sponsor, Aflac Incorporated of Columbus, Georgia.


Robert T. Jones, ChairpersonFaruk Mohammed
​Allison S. Betof-Warner, Past ChairpersonGolnaz Morad
​Kristin G. Anderson
Maeve Mullooly
Francesco Caiazza
Chirag B. Patel
Andreana N. HolowatyjCaroline N. Smith 
Bianca N. Islam


​Allison S. Betof-Warner, ChairpersonFrancis W. Hunter​
Kenneth Dutton-Regester, Past ChairpersonRobert T. Jones
Brian J. AbrahamFaruk Mohammed
Kristin G. AndersonMaeve Mullooly
Renée de LeeuwChirag B. Patel
Andreana N. HolowatyjNeil Vasan


Kenneth Dutton-Regester, Chairperson​Katherine L. Jameson
Allison S. Betof-Warner, Chairperson-electRobert T. Jones
Diana M. Merino, Past ChairpersonMaeve Mullooly
Brian J. AbrahamNardin N. Samuel
Renée de LeeuwShane R. Stecklein
Kelsey R. HamptonKekoa A. Taparra
Francis W. HunterNeil Vasan


Diana M. Merino, ChairpersonKatherine L. Jameson
Kenneth Dutton-Regester, Chairperson-electSelena Lin
Mark D. Stewart, Past Chairperson​Maeve Mullooly
Brian J. AbrahamColles O. Price
Allison S. Betof-WarnerNardin N. Samuel
Wenji GuoShane R. Stecklein

​Francis W. Hunter

​Kekoa A. Taparra


Mark D. Stewart, ChairpersonSelena Lin
Diana M. Merino, Chairperson-electColles O. Price
Michelle Kinder, Past Chairperson​Richard (Rick) L. Price, III
Kenneth Dutton-RegesterNardin N. Samuel
Alexandra Joelle GreenbergShane R. Stecklein
Wenji GuoKekoa A. Taparra
Katherine L. Jameson


Michelle Kinder, ChairpersonSelena Lin
Mark D. Stewart, Chairperson-electShih-Wen (Wenny) Lin
Kerry L. Reed, Past ChairpersonDiana M. Merino
Kenneth Dutton-RegesterColles O. Price
Alexandra Joelle GreenbergRichard (Rick) L. Price, III
Wenji GuoMarijn T.M. van Jaarsveld
Takashi KobayashiAnna Woloszynska-Read


Kerry L. Reed, Chairperson Angelina I. Londoño-Joshi
​Michelle Kinder, Chairperson-elect ​Diana M. Merino
Jessica N. Clague Dehart, Past Chairperson Richard (Rick) L. Price III
​Alexandra Joelle Greenberg ​Mark D. Stewart
Geraldine Gueron Marijn T.M. van Jaarsveld
Takashi Kobayashi ​Anna Woloszynska-Read
​Shih-Wen (Wenny) Lin


Jessica N. Clague Dehart, ChairpersonCharles G. Knutson
Kerry L. Reed, Chairperson-electShih-Wen (Wenny) Lin
Aime F. Franco, Past ChairpersonAngelina I. Londono Joshi
Thomas M. BodenstineAnirban P. Mitra
Geraldine GueronMarijn T.M. van Jaarsveld
Takashi KobayashiAnna Woloszynska-Read
Michelle Kinder


Aime F. Franco, ChairpersonMichelle Kinder
Jessica N. Clague Dehart, Chairperson-electCharles G. Knutson
Krista A. Zanetti, Past ChairpersonAngelina I. Londono Joshi
Jennifer M. Bailey LundbergAnirban P. Mitra
Thomas M. BodenstineFreddy T. Nguyen
Geraldine GueronKerry L. Reed
Vijayvel JayaprakashPaul M. Weinberger


Krista A. Zanetti, ChairpersonJames G. Jackson
Aime F. Franco, Chairperson-electVijayvel Jayaprakash
Kimberly Brown Dahlman, Past ChairpersonJose A. Karam
Angela AlexanderCharles G. Knutson
Jennifer M. Bailey LundbergAnirban P. Mitra
Thomas M. BodenstineFreddy T. Nguyen
Jessica N. Clague DehartPaul M. Weinberger


Kimberly Brown Dahlman, Chairperson Brandi Brandon Knight
Krista A. Zanetti, Chairperson-electAime F. Franco
Jessica M. Faupel-Badger, Past ChairpersonJames G. Jackson
Angela AlexanderJose A. Karam
Jennifer M. Bailey LundbergFreddy T. Nguyen
Jacobus J. BoschApril A.N. Rose (resigned)
Vijayvel JayaprakashPaul M. Weinberger


Jessica M. Faupel-Badger, ChairpersonChi-Chen Hong
Kimberly A. Brown, Chairperson-electJulia Kirshner (resigned)
Jeffrey P. MacKeigan, Past ChairpersonJames G. Jackson
Brian D. AdamsJose A. Karam
Jacobus J. BoschChristoph Mamot
Brandi C. Brandon KnightApril A.N. Rose
Aime F. FrancoKrista A. Zanetti


Jeffrey P. MacKeigan, ChairpersonChi-Chen Hong
Jessica M. Faupel-Badger, Chairperson-electJulia Kirshner (resigned)
Donna Hansel, Past ChairpersonChristoph Mamot
Marc T. AbramsSteven C. Smith
Jacobus J. BoschYunguang Tong
Brandi C. BrandonKrista A. Zanetti
Kimberly A. Brown


Donna Hansel, ChairpersonChi-Chen Hong
Jeffrey P. MacKeigan, Chairperson-elect Christoph Mamot
Marc T. AbramsVu H. Nguyen
Doru T. AlexandrescuRohini Sharma
Kimberly A. BrownSteven C. Smith
Jessica M. Faupel-BadgerYunguang Tong


Troy A. Giambernardi, ChairpersonVu H. Nguyen
Donna Hansel, Chairperson-electKim Robien
Cheryl H. Baker, Past ChairpersonUzma S. Shah
Marc T. AbramsRohini Sharma
Doru T. AlexandrescuSteven C. Smith
Jeffrey P. MacKeiganYunguang Tong
Susan E. Olivo-Marston


Cheryl H. Baker, ChairpersonSusan E Olivo-Marston
Troy A. Giambernardi, Chairperson-electVu H. Nguyen
Arti C. Patel, Past ChairpersonEmily Anne Partridge
Cherie L. ButtsKim Robien
Donna HanselDouglas J. Rowland Jr.
J. Terry LimUzma S. Shah
Jeffrey P. MacKeiganRohini Sharma


Arti C. Patel, ChairpersonSusan E. Olivo
Cheryl H. Baker, Chairperson-electEmily Anne Partridge
Cynthia Wetmore, Past ChairpersonKim Robien
Cherie L. ButtsDouglas J. Rowland Jr.
Monique L. den BoerUzma S. Shah
Troy A. GiambernardiJean-Philippe Spano
J. Terry LimBret Taback


Cynthia Wetmore, ChairpersonJ. Terry Lim
Arti C. Patel, Chairperson-electLisa Joy McCawley
Christopher J. Barnes, Past ChairpersonEmily Anne Partridge
Cheryl H. BakerDouglas J. Rowland Jr.
Cherie L. ButtsJean-Philippe Spano
Monique L. den BoerBret Taback
Monica G. Marcu


Christopher J. Barnes, ChairpersonLisa Joy McCawley
Cynthia J. Wetmore, Chairperson-electSharyl J. Nass
Steven J. DiBiase, Past ChairpersonArti C. Patel
Janeen R. AzareJean-Philippe Spano
Cheryl H. BakerBret Taback
Monique L. den BoerAroon Yusuf
Monica G. Marcu


Steven J. DiBiase, ChairpersonWayne L. Monsky
Christopher J. Barnes, Chairperson-electSharyl J. Nass
Bryon E. Petersen, Past ChairpersonArti C. Patel
Janeen R. AzareLuz Maria Rodriguez
Roland S. Cooper (resigned)Cynthia J. Wetmore
Monica G. MarcuAroon Yusuf
Lisa Joy McCawley


Bryon E. Petersen, ChairpersonWayne L. Monsky
Steven J. DiBiase, Vice-chairpersonSharyl J. Nass
Janeen R. AzareLuz Maria Rodriguez
Christopher J. BarnesBruce C. Turner
Roland S. CooperChristopher G. Wood
Katrina L. MealeyAroon Yusuf


Wayne L. Monsky, ChairpersonAjay K. Kakkar
Katrina L. Mealey, Vice-chairpersonBryon E. Petersen
Roland S. CooperLuz Maria Rodriguez
John Alton Copland IIIKaren S. Strange
Steven J. DiBiaseBruce C. Turner
Farayi G. JiahChristopher G. Wood


John Alton Copland III, Co-chairpersonK. Sean Kimbro
Christopher P. Evans, Co-chairpersonKatrina L. Mealey
Karen S. Strange (née Whittal), SecretaryBryon E. Petersen
Naomi S. HaasBruce C. Turner
Farayi G. JiahChristopher G. Wood
Ajay K. Kakkar


John Alton Copland III, Co-chairpersonAjay K. Kakkar
Christopher P. Evans, Co-chairpersonK. Sean Kimbro
Naomi S. Balzer-HaasKaren S. Whittal
Farayi G. JiahPhilip A. Witman