Patricia LoRusso, DO

Patricia LoRusso, DO
Professor of Medicine; Associate Director of Innovative Medicine, Yale Cancer Center

​Patricia M. LoRusso, DO, widely-regarded as a leading expert on developing new cancer drugs through clinical trials, and joined Yale Cancer Center in August as a Professor of Medicine and Associate Director of Innovative Medicine at Yale Cancer Center.

LoRusso brings more than 25 years of expertise in medical oncology, drug development, and early phase clinical trials. Prior to her Yale appointment, she served in numerous leadership roles at Wayne State University's Barbara Karmanos Cancer Institute, most recently as director of the Phase I Clinical Trials Program and of the Eisenberg Center for Experimental Therapeutics.

LoRusso has served as co-chair of the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Cancer Therapy Evaluation Program (CTEP) Investigational Drug Steering Committee. She also served on the scientific committee of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR), the education and scientific committees of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), numerous peer-reviewed study sections, and NCI committees. She has garnered numerous awards, including the 1999 Heroes of Breast Cancer Award; 2004 Bennett J. Cohen Educational Leadership Award for Medical Research, 2008 NCI Michaele C. Christian Oncology Development Lectureship and Award; the 2014 Targeted Anticancer Therapies (TAT) Honorary Award; and will receive the 2014 Michigan State University Distinguished Alumni Award. She was recently honored as one of the 2014 Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center's "One Hundred" individuals and organizations recognized for their dedication in making a difference in the fight against cancer. LoRusso is a former editor of Investigational New Drugs, is currently on the editorial board for Clinical Cancer Research, and is a reviewer for several journals. She has authored more than 200 articles on cancer research in peer-reviewed journals, and written multiple book chapters.

Dr. LoRusso assumed presidency of WICR (Women In Cancer Research) for 2015 – 2016 and was elected an AACR Board Member for 2015 – 2018.