2017 Innovative Research Grants  

In 2017, Stand Up To Cancer announced the award of $7.5 million in Innovative Research Grants focused on immuno-oncology to 10 early-career scientists, in a program funded by a grant from Bristol-Myers Squibb Company (BMS), an SU2C Visionary Supporter. Over a three-year period, each investigator will receive up to $750,000.

“Immuno-oncology is one of the most exciting areas in cancer research today, and we believe these outstanding investigators have the potential to help take the field to the next level,” said William G. Kaelin, Jr., MD, professor at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Harvard Medical School and chair of the SU2C Innovative Research Grants Committee (IRGC). “We want to see more patients benefitting from the science of immuno-oncology, so increasing the types of cancers for which treatment may be effective is critical. These researchers will bring new ideas and fresh energy to that effort.”

The 2017 SU2C IRG scientists are:

  • Daniel A. Bachovchin, PhD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, “Harnessing Dipeptidyl Peptidase Inhibition for Cancer Immunotherapy”
  • David M. Barrett, MD, PhD, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, “Rescuing T-Cell Function for Immunotherapy of Pediatric Malignancies”
  • Gregory L. Beatty, MD, PhD, University of Pennsylvania, “Targeting the Pro-Metastatic Niche in the Liver for Cancer Immunotherapy”
  • Marie Bleakley, MD, PhD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, “T-Cell Immunotherapy for Core Binding Factor Acute Myeloid Leukemia”
  • Michael D. Farwell, MD, University of Pennsylvania, “Imaging CAR T Cells with a Dual Function PET Reporter Gene”
  • Rizwan Haq, MD, PhD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, “Identifying and Targeting Mechanisms of Resistance to Immunotherapy”
  • Meenakshi G. Hegde, MD, Baylor College of Medicine, “Reworking Negative Receptor Signals for Improved Anti-Glioma T-cell Therapy”
  • Marcela V. Maus, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center/Harvard Medical School, “Potentiating Novel Engineered Cellular Therapies for Solid Tumors”
  • Jennifer Wargo, MD, MMSc, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, “Delineating the Role of the Microbiome in Modulating Tumor and Host Immunity”
  • John T. Wilson, PhD, Vanderbilt University, “Reprogramming Tumor Immunogenicity with STING-Activating Nanoparticles”